only search UCSI University Trust
HOME About Us SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS/FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE Board of Trustees UCSI Scholars' Circle Media Room Contact Us
Home > Board of Trustees > Member: Tan Sri Dato' Seri (Dr.) Musa Mohamad
Member: Tan Sri Dato' Seri (Dr.) Musa Mohamad
Yang Berbahagia Tan Sri Dato' Seri (Dr.) Musa Mohamad was formerly the founding Dean of the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) from 1975 to 1979, subsequently its Deputy Vice Chancellor from 1979 -1982, and its Vice Chancellor from 1982 until his retirement in 1995. He was also the first non-politician to be appointed the Minister of Education of Malaysia from 1999 - 2004.

As the Minister of Education, he was instrumental in the development and implementation of the Malaysia Blueprint for Education 2001-2010, which saw him championing access to all levels of quality education, including pre-school. His other contributions included introducing vocational education to day schools; increasing access to technical schools; developing a policy to balance the number of science and arts students; championing the English Language and its usage in the teaching of Science and Mathematics; revamping the national primary and secondary school curricula; developing and implementing the Smart School concept to enable schools to have access to the internet; introducing the Community College concept which culminated in the establishment of 34 such colleges nationwide; and introducing and establishing University Colleges in both the public and private sectors. He was also instrumental in the development of research at universities for postgraduate education, as well as in the growth of private higher education.

At USM, Tan Sri Musa was credited for laying the foundation that enabled the USM School of Pharmacy to emerge as the top school in pharmacy and for USM to become one of the nation's top 3 universities. Consequently, upon his retirement as the Vice Chancellor of USM, he was invited to be the advisor of UCSI University, where he played a lead role in establishing the School of Pharmacy and the School of Medicine.

Tan Sri Musa also contributed immensely to international education through his involvement in the South East Asian Ministers of Education Conference (SEAMEO), the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), the Association of South East Asian Institute of Higher Learning (ASAIHL), and the Asean University Network. Between 2001 - 2002, he became the President of SEAMEO and a member of the Executive Board of UNESCO (2001 to 2003).

For all his contributions to the country, Tan Sri Musa was awarded the top federal award and the title Tan Sri by Duli Yang Maha Mulia Yang Di Pertuan Agong, and the top state award carrying the title Dato' Seri by the state of Perak and Datuk by the state of Penang. He was awarded 7 honorary doctorates in science by the University College of Science and Technology (KUSTEM), University Malaysia Sabah (UMS), North Malaysia Engineering University College (KUKUM), Science University of Malaysia (USM); in knowledge science by Multimedia University (MMU); in philosophy by University College Tun Hussein Onn (KUITTHO); and education by UCSI University. Tan Sri Musa is also a fellow of the Malaysian Pharmaceutical Society and the Academy of Sciences.

Although retired from active public life, Tan Sri still acts as advisor to several educational institutions in Malaysia and abroad, besides spending time in corporate matters.
  Chairman: Dato' (Dr.) Haji Karim Bin Haji Abdullah Omar
  Member: Tan Sri Datuk Seri Panglima Dr. Abdul Rahman Arshad
  Member: Tan Sri Dato' Seri (Dr.) Musa Mohamad
  Member: Dato' Peter T. S. Ng

Member: Senior Professor Dato' Dr Khalid Yusoff

UCSI University Kuala Lumpur Campus, 11th Floor, Block G, No.1, Jalan Menara Gading, UCSI Heights (Taman Connaught), 56000 Cheras, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Tel: +603 9101 8880 | Email:

Copyright 2013. UCSI Education Sdn. Bhd. (185479-U). All rights reserved.
| Privacy Policy | Security Policy | Copyrights |